Day 2: Get to Know Me

It is well past the time for me to introduce to you the team behind all the magic. I knowwww y’all didn’t think I was reading all these books alone, while going to school and raising two children… As much as I would like to be… I’m no superhero.

Now I did spring this on them like today so I am giving everyone time to answer the questions. Which means I’ll go first!!! Hi! My name is Jen and I like long walks on the beach and…. jk (I’ve never even been to a beach.) For real though, this is me. I read. I write. And one day I hope to write something that people will read. I am double majoring in Creative Writing and English Lit. There’s not much else I want to talk about here so here’s a selfie! Some bookish questions will be answered below.

I spent some time looking for a selfie that hasn’t been posted anywhere else.

These are going to be rapid fire answers. Otherwise, we will be here forever.

1. Book boyfriend: Rhysand (ACOTAR) and Warner (Shatter Me)

2. Last 5 star read: Fumbled by Alexa Martin. This is a fun series to just relax and enjoy. I just finished this like 3 days ago.

3. Series you think everyone should read: Illuminae!!!! I cannot scream this enough. Seriously right now if you haven’t read it, buy the physical book and borrow the audiobook from your library. Read along with the audio… It’s an incredible experience. One day I’ll reread it but I’m waiting for my hubs to finalllllllllyyyyyyyy read it with me. He doesn’t share my love for reading fiction but since I rant and rave about it so much (and because he got me to read Dune by Frank Herbert 7 years into our relationship).

4. Underrated series you love: This one is hard. Most of the series I love are well known. But I’ll list a couple lesser known ones. Unearthed by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner is an duology that is like an outer space Indiana Jones story. Loved it 5 stars on both. A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Grey. Has cross dimensional travel and romance. 4 star series for certain. There are 3 books. I started The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell and I definitely need to finish that series. The first book was 5 stars for me.

5. Last debut book you loved: This took some research on my goodreads. However I’m glad I did. The Seventh Sun by Lani Forbes. 5 stars. I loved every bit of it. It stressed me out and I cannot wait for the next book. Like I neeeeeeedddddd it.

6. Fave book so far this year: This is a tough one because I did read Outlander this year. It was everything I didn’t know I needed. I’m fully invested in the story and maybe because I am still in the middle of that story… I won’t pick that one.

Bone Crier’s Moon by Kathryn Purdie was a five star read too! It had me engaged and worried from page one. I cared about the characters and if I didn’t have responsibilities then I would have read it straight through in one sitting. It is a new series so if you have a hang up about unfinished series, put this on your list to read later. It’s incredible.

7. Fave genres: YA Fantasy and Sci-Fi

8. Most anticipated April release: Crave by Tracy Wolff. Unfortunately I could not get ahold of this eARC so I have to wait to read it. Which reminds me… I need to go preorder it.

9. Goodreads goal: 250 books. Last year I read 205. It’s not looking good this year. Goodreads is rudely telling me that I am 34 books behind schedule.

10. Favorite book of 2019: This is hard. I read a lot of 5 star books last year. My favorites were:
Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo
King of Scars by Leigh Bardugo
Dry by Neal Shusterman
The Diviners by Libba Bray (need to read book 4)
Skyward by Brandon Sanderson

11. Book best friend: Kenji from Shatter Me

12. Favorite bad ass female: Aelin!!! (from Throne of Glass series) I swear if I ever have the chance to name a little girl again this will be her name.

13. Favorite author: Colleen Hoover. Jay Kristoff. Leigh Bardugo. Sarah J Maas. In no particular order.

14. Author you just read no matter what: There’s so many!!! Jay Kristoff, Colleen Hoover, Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Laini Taylor, Sarah J Maas, Amie Kaufman, Angie Thomas. I’m sure I’ve forgotten some.

15. Most anticipated this year: Definitely one of Jay’s books. TrueL1f3 or Aurora Burning.

Do y’all feel like you know me better? Trust me enough to add to your TBR? I dropped a lot of good books in this post. Definitely look them up if you haven’t read them or tell me what you think if you have!

Oh! If you ever find yourself needing someone to talk to while reading one of my favorite books, or any book shoot me a message on the Reading Robyn Facebook page. If I’ve read it, I’ll be here for all your reactions. My besties’ say I am a dramatic reader so the least I can do is be here for anyone like me.

Happy Reading! #WashYourHands #StayHome

Leave a comment